Pat Egen’s Weblog

Ramblings, chats, thoughts, ideas

Twittering about Twitter

with one comment

Ok, yes, I know I’m tardy again in posting to the blog.  We’re busy, ergo my tardiness.  That’s goodness I know.  But keeping track of emails, of which I receive over 50 an hour – yes, 50 – keeping track of updates to my CRM software, answering phones, meeting clients, and then, on a whim, taking time to sleep takes up my day.  Oh, and I forgot Instant Messages and reading online blogs and newsgroups.  Sigh.  So, the last thing I need is one more thing to do.  Enter the topic of today’s blog.  Twitter.

Yesterday, I attended a great session put on Julie Bestry, one of the members in my Women Business Owners group.  She’s a Twitter-holic by choice and a professional organizer by necessity and to pay the bills.  She’s very focused and goes to great lengths to make sure she is frugal with her time.  So, it surprised me that she became so addicted to Twitter.  The purpose of her presentation was to enlighten the rest of us on how to use the tool and the benefits.  If you are on Twitter, her Twitter name is ProfOrganizer.

It is becoming more and more apparent that we live in a virtual world.  Social networking is now an important part of our daily business and personal lives.  Myspace, Facebook, LinkedIn, Instant Messaging, Texting on our phones, all are evidence of this growing phenomena.  We won’t go into Second Life because that simply blows my mind.

As I watched Julie go through her demo I was at first stressed out by the fact this would become a “yet another thing to do” task to add to my already stressed out and busy day.  And indeed it will.  But I started to realize the value when she told us of how it had helped her in her life and her business.

The concept is simple.  You get a Twitter id.  You find people with whom you wish to “twitter”.  You add them to your trusted network similar to LinkedIn and Facebook.  You then post items to either your trusted network or to the entire Twitter world.  In the Twitter nomenclature, these are called “tweets.” You are limited to 140 characters with the idea these short snippets are quick and easy to read.  Well, sort of until you are realize there are thousands of tweets every 5 seconds.  Ouch.  Oops, stressed feeling coming on again.   I can’t imagine reading through all the tweets out in the cyberspace but people do just that. 

Julie continued on with her explanation of how this had helped her.  She sent out a tweet about some organization tips.  This then was forwarded on to someone else and it ended up being read by someone at a large plastic products company.  They liked what they had read and called Julie for an interview.  This is goodness for Julie is her business.  The message here is it’s all about networking.  Instead of spreading the word at a Chamber or BNI meeting, you spread it electronically via tweets.

To keep your life sane, you can choose to only tweet with a trusted network.  That’s I believe what most people do.  You can even tweet from your cell phone.  Bloggers (yet another way of sharing information as I am doing here) use tweets to update their blogs automatically.  Now that’s kind of nifty.

So, I guess what I am grappling with here today is “to twitter or not to twitter.”  I’m going to give it a try.  Maybe I’ll find 140 character snippetts easier to manage that daily updates to my blog.  I’ll keep you posted.

Bye for now and Happy New Year.

Written by pregen

January 16, 2009 at 7:26 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My favorite place to stay in the loop on affiliate marketing Twitter (by far). Time

    Time

    January 19, 2009 at 3:53 pm


Leave a Reply

