Pat Egen’s Weblog

Ramblings, chats, thoughts, ideas

More on Twitter

with 2 comments

This week I’m at a business meeting at Microsoft in Redmond, WA.  I have some spare time so I’m continuing my efforts at learning the Twitter world. 

I’ve spent the last two weeks familiarizing myself with Twitter.  A couple of clients asked if this was something they should look into as yet another way to market themselves and their business.  My initial reaction was probably not.  However, that is no longer the case.  I’m kind of overwhelmed at the power of this environment.

I started exploring posts using the search link.  It’s amazing the excellent information and tips you can find out on the “tweets.”  Yes, I know they say don’t believe everything you read on the Internet.  And for the most part, I undertand that and practice “safe searching” as a general rule. 

Yet, the little tips I’m finding and reading on Twitter are excellent and very helpful.  The trick is finding who to follow and how many.  This could easily become an addiction or at least a time consumer and that’s not something I need right now.

Today, though, I helped someone on Twitter as a favor and she posted a really nice Tweet about me and my business.  How nice was that.  Ah, how nice was that indeed.  Instant word of mouth marketing simply by lending a hand.  Hm, ok, this is making me rethink my initial reaction about Twitter.  In fact,  I went out and updated my Twitter profile with more information about my website and interests.  At the same time, I went and updated a bit on my Facebook page as well.  In these lean times, it pays to put information out in as many places as possible.  And this is not spamming because the people need to come to you – not the other way around. 

As you know I am fond of saying…How cool is that.

Ciao from Redmond

Written by pregen

February 3, 2009 at 1:29 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Seems everyone is starting to rethink Twitter and Facebook. So many friends who said “no way” last year, have dipped their toes into the water and found that it was not cold, but warm. Even HOT is some ways! We recently launched a service built on Twitter and will also migrate it to Facebook and other platforms. It’s a sweepstakes service for brands to give away swag to social folks! Tweetstakes! Twit2Win.com launched Jan. 10th.

    We are also working with other platforms to integrate features into digital signage media and kiosk applications for clients. Once the “Network” is in place (Twitter/Facebook/Etc) it can make developing useful tools easier and faster and get it immediate exposure to large networks. It’s the evolution of Web 2.0. Nice article! Keep ’em coming!

    KioskGuy

    February 3, 2009 at 4:04 pm

  2. Considering how many bloggers run contests to drive readership and “repay” their loyal readers, I can imagine something like Twit2Win.com would be appealing.

    I’d have to agree, the initial reaction to Twitter, among almost everyone, is “Oh, that’s ridiculous. I don’t have time for that.” However, the people who use it well realize they not only don’t need very much time, but they can’t afford to NOT be using the social networking value to boost their readership and revenues.

    I know that with Twitter (and, to a lesser extent, other social media), I’m exposed to many more sources for useful information (some at a cost, others blissfully without paying a penny) on the web than ever before. People do business with those they know, like and trust, and nothing helps that process along more than providing great information.

    Yes, Pat, how cool is that!?

    Julie Bestry

    February 3, 2009 at 5:12 pm


Leave a Reply

