Pat Egen’s Weblog

Ramblings, chats, thoughts, ideas

Creating Styles in Word 2010 – a search and destroy mission

leave a comment »

Microsoft “moved my cheese” when they came out with 2007, and then, darn, they moved it again in 2010.  I’ve used Microsoft products since they began and am so used to things the way they used to be that sometimes I spend quite a bit of time trying to figure out where things got moved.  It is really bad to have to admit I actually like the ribbons at the top now that I realize they keep the majority of things you use right in front of your face.  However, they do a amazingly good job at hiding some things.

Because I work with HTML quite a bit, sometimes I want to bring in HTML code into a document.  Then when I go to spell check it the dictionary goes all wonky and spastic trying to show me all the “supposed” misspellings.  So, I said, self, why don’t you create an HTML style and tell it to not spell check.  I found out how to not spell check during another seek and destroy mission.

Since this was a royal pain, I thought I’d put it into a blog article to save some other poor sole the effort of figuring this out.  This will show you how to even begin to build a style – which is the first thing really hidden, and the second part will show you how to exclude spell checking on a style.

Ok, first things first.  Where the heck did they hide creating a new style?  Open Word and make sure you are on the Home Ribbon.  Next click on the little corner widget on the Styles Group.  I have learned that these little corner widgets hide a myriad of secrets, and usually have what I am looking for in the first place.

After clicking on the corner arrow, you will see the following drop-down. The icon you are searching for, and which is totally non-obvious is shown here on this graphic. The green arrow is pointing at your destination.

Styles Dropdown

Hooray, we can now build a new style.  As I said I built one for HTML Code.  The next mission was to set the style to do no spelling checking.  Let me explain where you can use this.  Say you are writing a blog article about HTML coding – or even more probable, a user manual.  You can use a normal default style and when you are entering the HTML code, go to the Style Group and select your new HTML Code style.  Then, when you run your spell checker it will bypass spelling checking that section.  In my case, it is HTML code.  It could be technical terminology for engineers, or Visual Basic or C# code for programmers, or very broad medical descriptions for doctors.  I think you get the idea.

So now that I have you interested, let me show you how to set the style to not spell check.  In Word, again make sure you are on the Home ribbon and click on the Styles corner arrow.  Locate your style and right click on the name to bring up the dialog box.  You are going to choose Modify as shown here in this graphic.

After clicking Modify you want to click the Format button.

On the format dialog box choose the Language selection.

Finally, you can now check the Do Not Check Spelling or Grammar box.

Whew, see, I told you it was non-intuitive.  I know it didn’t used to be this hard.  The good news is all the clicking and searching causes me to find some things that are indeed really new.  But I don’t know about you, I really don’t have the time to have to go through this every time I need to do something out of the ordinary.  Yes, I know, I can go look it up on Help, but the Microsoft Help, as my husband likes to say, “makes up for lack of function by being slow.”  That combined with my total lack of patience spells disaster or a search and destroy mission – ergo, the title of my blog article.

That’s it for today.  Several of my readers have sent me emails asking for more regular updates.  They like the ones I do on Microsoft products, so look for more in the near future.  Who knows – maybe it will become a series of articles.

Written by pregen

September 30, 2012 at 8:12 pm

Leave a Reply

